ITEM OUT OF STOCK? NOT LISTED? CLICK HERE TO ORDER ON OUR BOOKSHOP.ORG PAGE

In the Valley of the Sun

In the Valley of the Sun

Log In to Add Item to Wishlist
Regular price
$16.99
Sale Price
$16.99
Quantity must be 1 or more

By: Andy Davidson

A finalist for the 2017 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel.

 

An addictive Western literary horror for fans of Joe Hill, Cormac McCarthy, and Anne Rice.

 

One night in 1980, a man becomes a monster.

 

Haunted by his past, Travis Stillwell spends his nights searching out women in West Texas honky-tonks. What he does with them doesn't make him proud, just quiets the demons for a little while. But after Travis crosses paths one night with a mysterious pale-skinned girl, he wakes weak and bloodied in his cabover camper the next morning--with no sign of a girl, no memory of the night before.

 

When motel-owner Annabelle Gaskin offers the cowboy a few odd jobs to pay his board, he takes her up on the offer. By day, he mends the old motel, insinuating himself into the lives of Annabelle and her ten-year-old son. By night, in the cave of his camper, he fights an unspeakable hunger. Before long, Annabelle and her boy come to realize that Travis is not what he seems.

 

Half a state away, a grizzled Texas Ranger is hunting Travis for his past misdeeds, but what he finds will lead him to a revelation far more monstrous. A man of the law, he'll have to decide how far into the darkness he'll go for the sake of justice.

 

When these lives converge on a dusty autumn night, an old evil will find new life--and new blood.