CLICK HERE FOR ALL THE WAYS YOU CAN SHOP WITH US!

Page Turner Book Club (REMOTE)

 

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE THIS TITLE AND OTHER BOOK CLUB PICKS

Join us on February 18th at 6:30PM for Page Turner Book Club.

We will discuss The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins.

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins's The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

 

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

 But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for.

 Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her?

 With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

 

 

Join us on March 18th at 6:30PM for Page Turner Book Club.

We will discuss Girl A by Abigail Dean.

She thought she had escaped her past. But there are some things you can't outrun.

 Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't want to think about growing up in her parents' House of Horrors. And she doesn't want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, the eldest sister who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It's been easy enough to avoid her parents--her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and leaves Lex and her siblings the family home, she can't run from her past any longer. Together with her sister, Evie, Lex intends to turn the home into a force for good. But first she must come to terms with her siblings--and with the childhood they shared.

 What begins as a propulsive tale of escape and survival becomes a gripping psychological family story about the shifting alliances and betrayals of sibling relationships--about the secrets our siblings keep, from themselves and each other. Who have each of these siblings become? How do their memories defy or galvanize Lex's own? As Lex pins each sibling down to agree to her family's final act, she discovers how potent the spell of their shared family mythology is, and who among them remains in its thrall and who has truly broken free.

 For readers of Room and Sharp Objects, an absorbing and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity-but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life.

 

TO ATTEND:

1) Purchase the book club book to support our shop.  If you already own the book you may purchase a gift certificate or sponsor a stack for $15 or $25 dollars depending on if the book club book is paperback or hardcover.

2) Email us after your purchase that you plan on attending and we'll supply the password.

REMOTE INSTRUCTIONS

Join online!
https://zoom.us/j/306490858
Meeting ID: 306 490 858

OR

Join by phone
(301) 715-8592

PREVIOUS BOOK CLUB PICKS

The Lies We Told by Camilla Way
In the Woods by Tana French
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn
My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing
The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware
Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson
The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager
The Butterfly Girl by Rene Denfeld
The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
The Other People by C.J. Tudor
Long Bright River by Liz Moore
Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel
Lost Man by Jane Harper
The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell
The Whisper Man by Alex North
When I Was You by Amber Garza
Don't Look for Me by Wendy Walker
The Last Flight by Julie Clark